top of page

Get the campaign started! Visit to Extras for Creative Reuse in Lynn


The MFE team kicked off our campaign by creating some artistic bins for collecting donated garments. The first thing we did was a visit to Extras for Creative Reuse in Lynn today.

Extras for Creative Reuse is a non-profit, membership-based, creative reuse centre and arts workshop space located in Lynn, MA. Materials such as paper, office supplies, textiles, architectural samples and thingamagigs are donated from manufacturers, businesses, individuals and institutions.

When I first stepped into the space, I felt like I am in a Michael's, but more. The entire space is divided into different sections including a room of fabrics, paper, stationary, architectural materials such as wood, glass, rock samples, and seasonal decoration items. I used the day shopper membership today and filled up a big bag of fabric for $15 (including $5 one time annual registration fee), which I think it is totally worth for the material I've got. I also saw people came here and left with carts of material for free by using the individual membership. I talked to their director Jocelyn and knew that people in the community love their organization because it provides cheap materials for school art projects, personal hobbies and home improvement. The organization welcomes individual visitors as well as big groups from other institutions. I truly think that it is a good source for artists and students, especially for those who are looking for large quantity of materials.

The MFE team is excited for the fabrics we've got today. The bins are going to be fabulous! Stay tuned...

Extras for Creative Reuse website:


bottom of page